Qubo Gas et Julien Boucq

Yellow Brick Road

30 June - 15 October 2017

As part of the St’art festival in Lens, artconnexion invited the art collective Qubo Gas and the artist Julien Boucq to create Yellow Brick Road, an art path between the Louvre-Lens museum and the town centre of Lens.

Yellow Brick Road is an invitation to the museum visitors to continue their visit towards the town centre. It also offers a new experience of reaching the heart of the city for the town's residents.

The title of the project refers to the path taken by Dorothy to meet the Wizard of Oz in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. In the 1939 cinematographic adaptation, this scene is where the black and white movie turns into colour. It illustrates the crossing between real and imaginary worlds.

artconnexion chose three artists to work together to create a comprehensive artwork encompassing different parts of an itinerary. At each stage, the same materials, shapes and colors are used in a variety of forms. The artists are Julien Boucq, whose works focuses on the notion of territory and landscape, and the collective Qubo Gas, represented by Morgan Dimnet and Jef Ablezot, who have developed a drawing practice which combines new technologies, edition, craft, decorative art, and design.

Together, the artists aim to bring a summer party feeling to Lens, celebrating lightness and the ephemeral.The path between the town-centre and the Louvre-Lens museum is dressed with colourful, organic shapes and materials playing with natural elements.

Yellow House - the project house / artists’ studio

At 9 rue de Paris in Lens, a temporary studio presents the Yellow Brick Road project. The artists are using the space to prepare the different components of the installation (silk-screen printing, painting, sewing) and the public is welcome to visit and view the creative process.

Workshops

- Workshop with Julien Boucq, Saturday 1st of July 2017 : Creation of posters using print blocks

- Screen printing workshop with Qubo Gas from Wednesday 5 untill Friday 7 July 2017 : Production of a limited edition

Qubo Gas et Julien Boucq

Yellow Brick Road

30 juin - 15 octobre 2017

Dans le cadre du festival St’art in Lens, artconnexion a fait appel au collectif Qubo Gas et à l’artiste Julien Boucq pour créer Yellow Brick Road, un parcours artistique entre le Musée du Louvre-Lens et le centre-ville de Lens.

Yellow Brick Road est une invitation aux visiteurs du musée à poursuivre leur visite vers le centre-ville. Il propose aux habitants de l’agglomération une nouvelle expérience de ce chemin vers le cœur de la ville.

Le titre de ce parcours désigne la route empruntée par Dorothy pour rejoindre le Magicien d’Oz dans The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Dans l’adaptation cinématographique de 1939, cette scène fait basculer le film du noir et blanc vers la couleur pour illustrer le passage du monde réel au monde imaginaire.

artconnexion a choisi trois artistes originaires de la région Hauts-de-France qui travaillent ensemble pour proposer une œuvre globale, une promenade originale ponctuée de plusieurs interventions reprenant les mêmes matières, formes et couleurs : Julien Boucq, dont les travaux se concentrent sur le territoire et le paysage, ainsi que le collectif Qubo Gas, représenté par Morgan Dimnet et Jef Ablezot, dont le travail s’inscrit dans une pratique du dessin se confrontant aux nouvelles technologies, à l’édition, à l’artisanat, aux arts décoratifs et au design.

Ensemble, les artistes souhaitent amener à Lens un esprit de fête d’été, célébrant la légèreté et l’éphémère. Le trajet entre le centre-ville et le Musée du Louvre-Lens se pare de couleurs, de formes organiques et intrigantes et de matières jouant avec les éléments naturels.

Yellow House - la maison du projet / l’atelier d'artistes

Au 9 rue de Paris à Lens, un atelier éphémère présente le projet Yellow Brick Road. Les artistes y préparent les éléments pour l’installation et le public pourra y découvrir le processus de création.

Atelier et workshop

- Atelier artistique avec Julien Boucq le samedi 1er juillet 2017 : réalisation d’affiches à partir de tampons.

- Workshop sérigraphie avec Qubo Gas du mercredi 5 au vendredi 7 juillet 2017 : Création d’une édition limitée

Les articles commandés seront envoyés à partir du 28 août 2023.