Patrick Corillon

St. Eanswythe

2019 – ongoing

The commission

The town of Folkestone is based on an Anglo-Saxon heritage of national importance around Eanswythe, granddaughter of Ethelbert, the first English king to convert to Christianity under Augustine. St Eanswythe is said to have founded one of the oldest monastic communities in England (around 630 AD) on Bayle, the historic centre of Folkestone. Over the centuries a rich heritage has developed around the site and its saint, including countless mysteries: a 'miraculous' watercourse, a lost mine and the almost unique survival of relics, probably hidden at the time of the Reformation and rediscovered in the 19th century.

One of the legends of St Eanswythe is the 'miracle' of water rising from the hills of the town. The area of Guildhall Street, which covers the 'miraculous waterway' is cut off from the town centre by a new dual carriageway. A group of residents around Our Lady and St. Joseph's Church and Stella Maris Primary School wanted to design a route along the Holy Stream St.Eanswythe which has shaped the town, in order to reveal the signs that have become invisible and to tell imaginary stories as part of the Folkestone Triennial.

The Folkestone Triennial is an art event that produces permanent or ephemeral works of art that engage with the history of the town of Folkestone, its environment and its people.

The artwork

The work proposed by Patrick Corillon, On the Track of St. Eanswythe’s Waterway is a set of 5 wooden and glass boxes that will be installed along the river.

Each box will contain a game for children. The rules of the game and part of the history of the Saint are written on the outside of the boxes. The games were invented by the artist to refer to the legend of Eanswythe.

The underlying aim of the project is to stimulate children's imagination with street games that will allow them to appropriate their public space.

The artist

Driven by the hope of inventing new reading devices, Patrick Corillon has included his stories in various artistic fields (plastic arts, theatre, publishing, etc.). If these different expressions can each live independently, they are part of one and the same universe. It is a mysterious world that places the questions of our time in the perspective of a long, even legendary time.

Patrick Corillion works between Paris and Liège and is represented by Galerie In Situ - Fbienne Leclerc.

Patrick Corillon

St. Eanswythe

2019 – en cours

La commande

La ville de Folkestone se fonde sur un patrimoine anglo-saxon d’importance nationale autour d’Eanswythe, petite-fille d’Ethelbert, le premier roi anglais à se convertir au christianisme sous Augustin. Sainte Eanswythe aurait fondé l’une des plus anciennes communautés monastiques d’Angleterre (vers l’an 630 après J.-C.) sur Bayle, centre historique de Folkestone. Au fil des siècles, un riche patrimoine s’est développé autour du site et de son saint, notamment d’innombrables mystères: un cours d’eau «miraculeux», une mine perdue et la survie presque unique de reliques, probablement dissimulées à l’époque de la Réforme et redécouvertes au 19e siècle.

Une des légendes de Sainte Eanswythe porte sur le ‘miracle’ de l’eau qui monte les collines de la ville. Le quartier de Guildhall Street, qui couvre le « cours d’eau miraculeux » est coupé du centre ville par une nouvelle route à deux voies. Un groupe d’habitants autour de l’église Our Lady and St. Joseph et l’école primaire Stella Maris souhaite imaginer un parcours le long du cours d’eau Sainte. Eanswythe qui a façonné la ville, afin de révéler les signes devenus invisibles et de raconter l’imaginaire de cette histoire dans le cadre de la Triennale de Folkestone.

La Triennale de Folkestone est une manifestation artistique qui produit des œuvres pérennes ou éphémères qui s’inscrivent dans l’histoire de la ville de Folkestone, son environnement, ses habitants.

L'œuvre

L'œuvre proposée par Patrick Corillon est un ensemble de 5 boites en bois et en verre qui seront installées tout le long du cours d'eau. Chaque boite contiendra un jeu à destination des enfants. Les règles du jeu ainsi qu'une partie de l'histoire de la sainte seront inscrites sur l'extérieur des boites. Les jeux ont été inventés par l'artiste pour faire réference à la légende de Eanswythe. Le but du projet est de stimuler l'imagination des enfants avec des jeux de rue qui leur permettront de s'approprier leur espace public.

L'artiste

Poussé par l’espoir d’inventer de nouveaux dispositifs de lecture, Patrick Corillon a inscrit ses récits dans des champs artistiques variés (arts plastiques, théâtre, éditions…). Si ces différentes expressions peuvent, chacune, vivre de façon autonome, elles font partie d’un seul et même univers. C’est un monde mystérieux qui place les questions de notre époque dans la perspective d’un temps long, voire légendaire.

Patrick Corillon travaille entre Paris et Liège et est représenté par la Galerie In Situ — fabienne leclerc.