Bertille Bak et Charles-Henry Fertin

Cité 9

2017 - on going

The commission

The commissioning group decided to implement a project for their neighbourhood, the City 9, a former mining district, in which the Louvre-Lens Museum is located.

These residents are determined to play a transformative role for their neighbourhood. They are specifically interested in the way museum visitors perceive their neighbourhood and hope they might stop for a while rather than just driving through the Cité 9.

The arrival of the Louvre-Lens Museum in the neighbourhood was initially strongly criticized because of its geographical location and is still being criticized today with the arrival of the Louvre artwork reserves. The scepticism of certain cultural players points to the lack of cultural and tourist appeal of the city of Lens. However, it cannot be denied that the Museum has revitalised the area and these particular residents are regular visitors.

The artwork

The project consists of two parts and encompasses past history and present time in the same territory. A direct link or nod to the Galerie du Temps in the Louvre Lens, the only permanent exhibition space that reveals itself as a crossover of eras.

The first part of the project refers to the past and the former mining territory. Within the Louvre Lens museum, a terminal with a screen will invite visitors to venture beyond the museum grounds. This monitor will show a video where the residents draw on the floor of the museum towards the neighbouring streets the traces of buried and now revealed galleries. The routes will correspond to the old plans of the mining companies, the old galleries that lie 400 m below their feet.

After leaving the museum, the visitor will discover during his or her stroll through the area rectangular metal boxes on legs which may evoke childhood memories for some people: these are typical fairground vending machines also called "tirettes". If in the past, a coin would be slipped in to offer a surprise, here a two-euro coin will offer a small handmade replica of a typical house of the local mining districts.

The artists

Bertille Bak has been working for several years with different groups, exploring the idea of the collective, whether united by a territory, a situation or shared traditions. She makes videos that are fables based on knowledge, skills and hobbies linked to the communities. The aim of each project is to awaken the creative potential of each contributing person and to find new forms of expression and new ways of communication bypassing the usual ways of telling their story and giving an account of their situation.

Charles-Henry Fertin's sculptural practice is primarily conceived as a mode of intervention in situ by means of minimalist volumes, as pure as they are massive, which are set in motion by an often concealed motorization device. His projects bring together antithetical and ambiguous notions, such as imperceptible sound, motionless movement and stable imbalance.

Their shared artistic practice often takes the form of electromechanical installations, the consideration of space and time of the exhibition being at the core. The exhibition walls are incised, stamped, dug, probed or modified to reveal new, unsuspected spaces and to reconfigure the space. Their first machine, "Robe", was already linked to the mining heritage.

Bertille Bak et Charles-Henry Fertin

Cité 9

2017 - en cours

La commande

Dans le quartier de la Cité 9, un groupe de commanditaires a décidé d’agir pour son quartier dans lequel est implanté le musée du Louvre-Lens.

Ces habitants sont déterminés à avoir un rôle transformateur pour leur quartier qu'ils veulent intégrer dans une circulation possible pour les visiteurs du musée. Ils souhaitent que les visiteurs du musée ne se contentent plus seulement de traverser la Cité 9 en voiture mais qu’ils s’y arrêtent quelques instants.

L’arrivée du Louvre-Lens a été fortement décriée de par sa situation géographique et l’est encore aujourd’hui avec l’arrivée des réserves. Le scepticisme de certains acteurs culturels met en avant le manque d’attractivité culturelle et touristique de la ville de Lens. Pourtant, on ne peut nier qu’elle redynamise le territoire, renouvelle la ville, y insuffle de nouvelles énergies, et permet désormais de pouvoir miser sur le tourisme.

L'œuvre

Le projet contient deux volets et englobe histoire passée et temps présent sur un même territoire. Rapprochement direct ou clin d’œil à la Galerie du Temps du musée du Louvre Lens, unique espace d’exposition permanente qui révèle être une traversée des époques.

La première partie du projet fait référence au passé et au territoire ancien. Au sein du musée du Louvre Lens, une borne avec écran invitera les visiteurs à s’aventurer au delà du parc du musée. Ce moniteur montrera une vidéo où les habitants dessinent sur le sol du musée vers la cité des tracés de galeries enfouies et désormais révélées. Les tracés correspondront aux anciens plans des compagnies minières, les anciennes galeries qui se trouvent 400 m sous leurs pieds.

Après avoir quitté le musée, le visiteur découvrira lors de sa déambulation dans le quartier des boites rectangulaires métalliques sur pieds qui pourront évoquer chez certaines personnes des souvenirs d'enfance : ce sont des distributeurs typiques des fêtes foraines également appelés des "tirettes". Si autrefois y glisser une pièce offrait une surprise, ici une pièce de deux euros offrira une petite maison de coron réalisée à la main.

Les artistes

Bertille Bak s’attache depuis plusieurs années au collectif, qu’il soit uni par un territoire, une situation ou des traditions communes.

Elle réalise des vidéos proches de petites fables qui prennent pour base des connaissances, les savoir-faire et les passe-temps liés aux communautés. Pour tout projet il s’agit d’éveiller le potentiel créatif de chacun et de trouver de nouvelles formes d’expression, des chemins détournés pour se raconter et rendre compte de leur situation.

Charles-Henry Fertin conçoit prioritairement sa pratique sculpturale comme un mode d’intervention in situ au moyen de volumes minimalistes, aussi épurés que massifs, qu’une motorisation souvent dissimulée met en mouvement. Ses projets mettent en rapport des notions pourtant antithétiques et ambigus, il est ici question de son imperceptible, de mouvement immobile, de déséquilibre stable.

Leur pratique artistique commune prend souvent la forme d’installations électromécaniques, la prise en compte de l’espace et du temps de l’exposition en est la base. Les murs d’exposition sont incisés, tamponnés, creusés, sondés ou modifiés pour dévoiler de nouveaux espaces insoupçonnés et procéder à la reconfiguration du lieu. “Robe” leur première machine s’intéressait déjà à l’héritage minier.